Tuesday, November 29, 2011

Team Specialized Racing Announces 2012 Junior and Masters Squads

Roster Captured One World Championship, 14 National Championships and 22 State Championships in 2011
Palo Alto, CA -- Team Specialized Racing has announced its Junior and Masters team rosters for 2012, with seven returning and five new juniors ages 14-18, and nine returning and five new masters members.  In 2011, the riders collectively captured one world championship, 14 national championships and 22 state championships in the criterium, road race, individual time trial (ITT), team time trial (TTT), track, BMX and mountain bike (MTB) disciplines.

This is Specialized’s fifth years at the team’s title sponsor and will be providing the Tarmac (SL4 & SL3) and Allez for road race events, and Shiv TT for time trials. In addition to these bikes, the team will be riding Specialized Prevail and TT2 helmets and S-Works Body Geometry shoes. Co-Sponsors also include SRAM, Zipp, Clif Bar and Smith Optics.
Returning Junior Team Members, 2012 Racing Age, 2011 Championships
  • Chris LaBerge, age 18
  • Marcus Smith, age 18
  • Dean Haas, age 18
  • Kyle Torres, age 18, ITT State Champion (Southern California)
  • Diego Binatena, age 16, Road Race State Champion (Southern California)
  • Jack Maddux, age 15, ITT National Champion, Criterium and ITT State Champion (Northern California)
  • Matt Valencia, age 16, Road Race State Champion (Northern California)
New Junior Team Members
  • Oliver Barajas, age 15
  • Nick Castellano, age 15, Road Race State Champion (Southern California)
  • John Christensen, age 15
  • Sean McElroy, age 13, Road, Criterium, BMX and MTB National Champion, Road Race State Champion (Southern California)
  • Jason Saltzman, age 15
The mission of Team Specialized Racing is to prepare juniors to compete and win national and international races. Multi-time masters track world champion Larry Nolan directs the program with a wealth of knowledge gleaned from the highest level of amateur cycling. Junior riders are also guided and mentored by one of the best master's teams in America, awarded the USA Cycling Best All-Around Team at masters nationals in 2011.

Returning Masters Team Members, 2011 Championships
  • Rob Anderson, ITT World Champion, ITT and MTB National Champion, ITT and TTT State Champion
  • Chris D’Aluisio
  • Marco Hellman
  • Billy Innes
  • Dean LaBerge, Criterium National Champion
  • Chris Lyman, ITT National Champion, ITT and TTT State Champion
  • Kevin Metcalfe, ITT and Road Race National Champion, ITT and TTT State Champion, ITT National Record
  • Larry Nolan, Track and TTT State Champion, Track National Record
  • Craig Roemer, ITT State Champion
New Masters Team Members, 2011 Championship Results
  • Steve Francisco
  • Greg Anderson
  • Don Langley, Road Race State Champion
  • Bubba Melcher, Criterium National Champion
  • Jason Walker, Road Race National Champion
Team legacy members and mentors include former Olympians and National Champions Ken Carpenter, Dylan Casey, Mike McCarthy, and Thomas Weisel. Team founders include Steve Cassani, Dr. Fred St. Goar and Wyatt Weisel. 

Follow the team at Facebook.com/TeamSpecializedRacing, and on Twitter at @SpecializedNCCF.   www.TeamSpecializedRacing.com.

No comments: